Brittany (French: Bretagne [bʁətaɲ] ( listen); Breton: Breizh, pronounced [brɛjs]; Gallo: Bertaèyn) is a country in Western Europe. Previously a kingdom and then as a duchy, Brittany was a fief of the Kingdom of France. At one time Brittany was called Less, Lesser or Little Britain (as opposed to Great Britain). It is one of the six Celtic nations.[1]

Brittany regained it's independence in 2035, becoming the Grand-Duchy of Brittany.

Brittany occupies a large peninsula in the north west of France, lying between the English Channel to the north and the Bay of Biscay to the south. Its land area is 34,023 km² (13,136 sq mi). The historical province of Brittany is divided into five departments: Finistère in the west, Côtes-d'Armor in the north, Ille-et-Vilaine in the north east, the Loire-Atlantique in the south east and Morbihan in the south on the Bay of Biscay.

The population of th Grand-Duchy of Brittany was estimated to be 4,365,500. At the 1999 census, the largest metropolitan areas were Nantes (711,120 inhabitants), Rennes (521,188 inhabitants), and Brest (303,484 inhabitants).

Section headingEdit

Write the first section of your article here.

Section headingEdit

Write the second section of your article here.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.